The X. A. Kramer, Jr. Outstanding Teaching Award

Who helped you as a writer?

Established in 1986 in memory of X. A. Kramer, Jr., the Kramer Outstanding Teaching Award is presented annually to a DWR composition instructor for outstanding teaching. Congratulations to current and past recipients of this award!

Past Recipients

Gretchen Bunde (2016)
Dave Miller (2015)
Andrew Davis (2014)
Jane Meek (2013)
Mary Brooks Tyler (2012)

The Cynthia Krieser Award for Outstanding Freshman Writing

Established in 1990 in memory of Ole Miss student Cynthia Krieser, this award is presented annually to a first-year composition student who exhibits outstanding writing. A panel of W&R instructors reviews and selects the winner from the nominations.

This annual award is open to all students with freshman status in WRIT 100/101 or WRIT/LIBA 102 courses during the calendar year. Work should be submitted that was completed during the student’s freshman year, even though they may no longer be a freshman student at the time of the award selection. Nominations may be made by individual students and/or DWR teachers of record for coursework submitted by one of their freshman students.

Recipients of the Cynthia Krieser Award for Outstanding Freshman Writing will have their names added to the award plaque on display at the Department of Writing and Rhetoric; they will also receive a commemorative award and $400.00 (processed through the student’s University bursar account).

Past Recipients

Brooke Belson (2018)
Riley Long (2017)
Charles Kuhlman (2016)
Chuqi Min (2015)
Kelsey Lock (2014)
Hunter Johnson (2013)